More Time

Daily Prompt: Childlike

momastery.com

You know, one day you’re going to be as old as you wish you were right now. And it’s not going to seem nearly as cool as it seems to you at this moment.

In that moment, when you’re that age, the thoughts going through your head aren’t going to be “Finally, I’m a grown up” or “Now I can do anything I want to”. Do you know what they’re going to be?

“What happened to summers?”

“How did I get here?”

“Where did the time go?”

And I know you’re not going to believe me, but “I wish I could be a kid again”.

When you get older, you’ll regret not savoring the time you had.

Instead you wished it all away, you willed the years to pass, and before you even knew it, your wish came true.

And then you’ll be wishing you had more hours in the day, days in the week, weeks in the year.

Time is something that can be passed, wasted, borrowed, lost, found, scheduled, counted, given, and stolen. But whatever you do with it, you’ll only ever have a certain amount. Time is not something that can be bought or traded. You will never have more time than you do right now.

You’ll wish you had a lot of things – more money, more friends, more toys. But one day, little one, you’ll wish you had more time.

It is strange that the years teach us patience; that the shorter our time, the greater our capacity for waiting.

5 thoughts on “More Time

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Childlike | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  2. Pingback: Regrets On the Other Side of the Coin | Rob's Surf Report

  3. Pingback: Mama bear makes an ass out of me sometimes… | jennifermarshcurtis

  4. Pingback: Childlike…daily prompt | Life as a country bumpkin...not a city girl

  5. I find this so overly true to the core. I often look back wishing I could have some of the forgotten moments and memories back. They’re never going to come back though and it’s slightly terrifying.

Leave a Reply

