A Noir/Horror Short Story in screenplay form.

This story is in response to the Daily Prompt today. Let me preface this by saying that I’ve always secretly wanted to write a Noir/Horror style story, because it sounds fun. To add to that fun, since I’ve been writing mostly screenplay stuff for the past year-ish, I’m going to put it in screenplay form. Here goes nothin, boys and girls:

EXT. STREET CORNER – NIGHT

A BEAUTIFUL WOMAN and a SHARPLY-DRESSED MAN stand close together under a street lamp, huddled together in quiet conversation.

BEAUTIFUL WOMAN

I feel like we’re being watched. Are you sure you weren’t followed?

SHARPLY-DRESSED MAN

I’ve been at this game a long time, darlin. There’s no way I could have been followed without my knowin’ it.

The woman looks around slowly, pulling her fur coat close.

BEAUTIFUL WOMAN

Well, do you have it? I don’t want to stand out here all night anyhow, even if you’re right.

SHARPLY-DRESSED MAN

Here it is.

The man hands an ENVELOPE to the woman. She begins to peek inside, but is stopped by the man.

SHARPLY-DRESSED MAN (CONT’D)

Not here! Jeezus. You’ll get us both killed.

Leaving hurriedly, the man pulls the collar of his duster high to shield his face as he walks away.

Taking one last look around herself, the woman tucks the envelope into her coat and starts off in the opposite direction. Her silhouette fades into the darkness.

Underneath the street drainage grate near where they were standing, a pair of bloodshot eyes blinks and disappears.

INT. NEWSPAPER OFFICE – DAY

The beautiful woman is poring over the contents of the envelope. She has several papers scattered across her desk, along with some odd trinkets: an OLD KEY, PHOTOGRAPHS of what appears to be a scientific laboratory, and a MINI CASSETTE TAPE – the kind used by small voice recorders. She is so engrossed in her work that she does not hear SAM, a nerdy reporter, come up behind her.

SAM

Hey Lydia, are you going to avoid me all day, or are you going to tell me why you stood me up last…

Sam spies the stuff on her desk.

SAM (CONT’D)

What is all this?

Lydia turns to look at him, leaning to the side in an obvious attempt to block his view.

LYDIA

Sam, I am so sorry. I got a call from a source for this story, and I had to take it. I can’t tell you anything about it right now though. I don’t have all the facts, and this is something big. Like career-making big.

Sam cranes his neck to see the files. He frowns.

SAM

That looks like information about the murders. Lydia, shouldn’t you bring that stuff to the police?

LYDIA

My source tried to, and they laughed him off. I’m inclined to take him seriously though.

She gives Sam a measuring look.

LYDIA (CONT’D)

Ok, I’ll tell you what I know, but not here. Maybe you can help me decipher some of this stuff. Maybe we could reschedule that date I missed and get together tonight. Your place, 6 o’clock?

SAM (Beaming)

Sure thing, doll. See you then!

Sam leaves with a big smile, and Lydia stuffs the files and trinkets back into the envelope.

EXT. CITY STREET – DAY

Lydia walks along the sidewalk distractedly. She continually looks around suspiciously, exuding an air of intense nervousness. Suddenly, an arm reached out from a shadowed alleyway and pulls her into the darkness. She does not even have time to scream before disappearing off the street.

INT SAM’S APARTMENT – NIGHT

Sitting on his couch, Sam waits for Lydia to arrive. He checks the clock and frowns.

SAM

Stood me up again, it seems.

INT. NEWSPAPER OFFICE – DAY

Lydia is not at her desk. Sam walks past, frowning.

MONTAGE – LYDIA IS MISSING

A) NEWSPAPER OFFICE – Sam walks around the office, asking people if they know where Lydia is. Everyone shakes their heads or shrugs.

B) INSERT NEWSPAPER HEADLINE – “Reporter goes missing!”

C) INSERT NEWSPAPER HEADLINE – “Rash of murders leaves public uneasy”

D) INSERT NEWSPAPER HEADLINE – “Murder spree has police eyeing DR. FREAKISH’S laboratory”

E) INSERT NEWSPAPER HEADLINE – “Reporter still missing, sources say she was investigating recent murders”

F) NEWSPAPER OFFICE – Sam sits at his desk, head in hands, several papers related to the murders scattered across the desk. He looks defeated.

END OF MONTAGE

INT. DARK ROOM

Lydia is sitting at a small table with a HOODED FIGURE who has a rasping voice. She appears tired, but otherwise unhurt.

LYDIA

Can you tell me what you plan to do now?

HOODED FIGURE

Well, like I said, after I saw myself in the mirror, and all those mangled bodies, I guessed what had happened. He put a very smart brain in me, I suspect so that my intelligence would match his. WHo wants a dull companion? But even knowing what I am, I couldn’t abide what I’d seen. It was just monstrous, what he’d done to all those people.

The hooded figure pauses for breath, opening up his hands in supplication.

HOODED FIGURE (CONT’D)

No one will never accept me. I’m a creature born of murder and malice, I’m a science experiment. I guess I don’t really have a plan. I just wanted to tell my story to someone. I know I sort of forced you into this, but thank you for listening.

Lydia looks at the figure with pity.

LYDIA

I’m not sure society will ever accept you, but you must help bring Freakish to justice. You’re the only one who knows the whole story. I’ll help you, please let me help you. There may even be a way for you to lead a semi-normal life after this. Please.

Lydia pauses for a moment. Then, gently –

LYDIA (CONT’D)

May I see your face, sir? I know it’s impolite of me to ask, but..

She trails off, unsure. The hooded figure is silent while Lydia begins to fidget uncomfortably.

HOODED FIGURE

Very well. I will help you. It’s the very least I can do for all those poor people.

There is a pregnant pause while the hooded figure considers Lydia’s other question. Finally, the figure reaches up revealing a bone-white, surprisingly delicate hand. The hood is pulled down, revealing the stitched-together face not of a man, but a woman.

FADE TO BLACK

11 thoughts on “A Noir/Horror Short Story in screenplay form.

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: What a Twist! | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  2. Pingback: Life’s Tragedy | A mom's blog

  3. Pingback: A Beautiful, Intimidating Twist | Sogna Grandezza

  4. Pingback: ESCAPE | hastywords

  5. Pingback: An Unexpected Reunion | The Silver Leaf Journal

  6. Pingback: What if the end was near? | Okay, what if ?

  7. Pingback: The Luxury of Choice. | Expressions

    • You will get one as soon as I know Phoenix!
      Thanks for the compliment! It’s rough around the edges, I think, but I just wrote it off the top of my head with no editing, so I forgive myself for spelling/grammatical errors and the unpolished-ness of it.

      • I don’t think it’s rough around the edges at all. I think you have a really great gift. This blog has turned out harder for me than I anticipated. Too many thoughts in my head and I’m having such a hard time organizing them.

      • Don’t worry about writing down everything. I don’t. Try to isolate a single thought, or an idea, and flesh it out. Just go one at a time. Maybe this will work for you: make a list of all the individual thoughts you have swirling around, almost like a to do list. Go through them one-by-one and just thoroughly and methodically pare down that list.

Leave a Reply

