Rennie Heaven

When the weather starts to get warm it’s like something in me wakes up. I love the warm weather months, especially living in Wisconsin, where the winters can just be brutal. I love seeing the green come back, the flowers, the leaves, watching the world be reborn. I love the chance to get outside again, to interact with nature. There is one thing, however, that I really really really look forward to during this time. 

The Queen

Renaissance Faire! It’s practically magical, this place that’s open every weekend during the summer, where jousting and maypoling and courtly customs still live. Yes, I am one of the dedicated Rennies who dress up to go. Here are some FAQs I often get at the faire because of that:

Why are people dressed up? Is there a costume contest?

-Because we like to, and yes, sometimes there are contests, but there are usually dedicated weekends for that. I’m not trying to win any contest. This is a Ren Faire, and I want to dress up in Ren Clothing. That’s the whole reason.

Aren’t you hot in those clothes?

-Yes, I am. That is why I have this lovely feather fan here, and also drink lots of water. It’s not unbearable, and if it was, I wouldn’t put myself through that much misery to look authentic. I’d change into normal clothes.

Excuse me, do you know where (insert random place, show, bathroom, etc) is?

-Not always, but this is a great question for anyone who is dressed in period clothing because, usually even if they don’t work the Faire, they’re aficionados enough to know their way around the fairgrounds.

I love your shoes!

-I know, this isn’t a question, but I get the comment pretty often, and yeah, my shoes are pretty great. I got them here, in case you were wondering. 😉

So this weekend is the last weekend of the Bristol Renaissance Faire this summer. Extreme sadness mingles in me with extreme excitement, as the last weekend is usually a superblast!

Aaaand Excitement wins! Until I realize that it’s still only Wednesday, at which point, I pout.

If you’ve never been to a Ren Faire, you may still be able to catch one this summer. Try it, even if you don’t dress up, it’s an experience worth having! It’s such a rare thing to see so many people passionate about something, to soak up that kind of ambiance, to learn about those times! Go, merry meet, merry part, and merry meet again!

Leave a Reply

